Ur Allen Rookie of the YearWhitestown Fire Department

Rookie of the YearIn 1929, the existing bucket brigade was formally organized into the Whitestown Volunteer Fire Department by the six founding members, Ur Allen, Grover Allen, Horace Wheat, Minnice Sortor, Albert Hine, and Trustee Samuel West. Ur Allen took on the role as the first Fire Chief of the Whitestown Fire Department, and as a champion of firsts, bears the namesake of our Rookie of the Year Award.

The Ur Allen Rookie of the Year is awarded to the rookie member who displays the best qualities of the fire service in their first year with the department. Members who were still in their probationary year at any time since the last awards ceremony will be eligible. This award is nominated by the recipient’s peers and awarded at the recommendation of the peer-based committee.


  • 2020 – FF Sam Shell
  • 2019 – FF Caleb Fox
  • 2018 – No award
  • 2017 – FF Mark Hagan
  • 2016 – FF Chris Collins