Greg Bedell EMS Provider of the YearWhitestown Fire Department

EM Providor of the YearIn 1985, four members of the Whitestown Fire Department, under the leadership of Chief John Hancock, completed the initial EMT class for the department. Rob Guest and Glenn Fisher were two of those members but Greg Bedell is widely credited as the driving force behind making this giant step forward in the service to the community.

This was not an easy task as only a few fire departments provided EMS service at that time. Through his persistence, Greg steered the department toward its first EMS call on July 30, 1985. Today, the department provides advanced life support from all apparatus and EMS transport as well.

The Greg Bedell EMS Provider of the Year is awarded to the EMT or EMT-Paramedic that best exemplifies, through performance or deed, the furthering of medical service to the community. This award is nominated by the recipient’s peers and awarded at the recommendation of the peer-based committee.


  • 2020 – FM Jason Weilein
  • 2019 – FF Josh Caudill
  • 2018 – FF Chirs Combs
  • 2017 – PM Dorsey McGinley
  • 2016 – FM Jack Saunders
  • 2015 – FM Billy Legere